Home  »  Official Rules   »  

3 minutes to master the law of ping pong

This is the quick and simple table tennis laws in 3 minutes. I’ve also explained:


Basic Rules

Goal

  • The goal of table tennis is simple, like tennis.
  • Hit the ball over the net and land on the opponent’s side.
  • If they miss the ball, you win +1 point, and your opponent wins 0 points!

Scoring

  • The winner of a game is the first to 11 points.
  • If both players reach 10-10, you need to win 2 points in a row to finish the game.
  • To win a match you need to reach Best-of-5 of best-of-7 game.
Table Tennis Laws - Who gets the point
Table Tennis Laws – Who gets the point

Service Rules

  • Unlike tennis, in a ping-pong: the ball must touch your side.
  • You must throw the ball at least 16 cm upward
  • If the ball touches the net, serve again

Double Rule

  • Service must be diagonal.
  • Always from your right haft table to the right half table of the opponent.
  • In doubles, the server must be rotated.
  • You serve 2 points, and the next time, it’s your friend will serve.


Summary in 3 minutes

Here is the quick recap of the basic rules in table tennis in 3 minutes.

The Rules of Table Tennis (Ping Pong) - EXPLAINED!

Watch this video.

 


Real examples

Here is an example of the table tennis rules. Even at the high level, the umpire is wrong! Who gets the point?

Table tennis laws: Who gets the point?

Watch this video.

 

 



©PINGSUNDAY. Unauthorized use, translation or duplication of this material is strictly prohibited. Link and excerpt may be used, provided that clear credit is given to PingSunday with the specific link to the original content.



Sign up and join +65k readers. Get free coaching ebooks and coaching advice every week


Table tennis coach in France since 2012, founder of pingsunday.com (the best online coaching program for table tennis players). Born in Vietnam in 1983, Ph.D. in Université Pierre Marie Curie. Read more about him.

2 thoughts on “3 minutes to master the law of ping pong”

  1. I think he (Croatia) may have touched the table with his finger (reaching for the dropped racket with his left hand) before Persson hit the ball in the net. See 1:58. However, he was also touching the racket at this point, so maybe it counts as “racket hand below the wrist?”

    Reply

Leave a Reply to Anonymous Cancel reply

PingSunday