Timo Boll has a hard time to read Yoshimura's serve

Is Maharu Yoshimura serve legal?

In the previous article “Why Yoshimura Serve is so effective?”, there are many opposing opinions. Some said Yoshimura serve is legal. Other players don’t agree.

Today we talk about the “Upside-down service” of Yoshimura. Is it really effective? And is this service really illegal? If you don’t know the serving rule, I recommend you read the basic serving rules first.

Different opinions about Yoshimura’s serve

Why Timo Boll needs help? Why he can’t read the spin on the Yoshimura’s serve?

Timo Boll vs Yoshimura in the Team World Cup 2019
Timo Boll vs Yoshimura in the Team World Cup 2019

Let’s analyze it today.

Previous video: “Why Yoshimura Serve is so effective?” is here:

 

 

And there are a lot of comments. Some of you said that this serve is illegal But others have disagreed and said that his serve is perfect and legal.

The Secret of Yoshimura's Serve
The Secret of Yoshimura’s Serve

Agreements:

illegal 1
illegal 1
illegal 2
illegal 2
illegal 3
illegal 3

Disagreements:

legal 1
legal 1

 

legal 2
legal 2
legal 3
legal 3

 

legal 4
legal 4

 

legal 5
legal 5

Oh. I don’t cry about it. I think this is a very good serve. And if it is at the borderline (difficult to say legal or illegal), you should learn this serve as your new weapon. So today, let’s see if this serve is really effective? and analyze it is legal or illegal?

legal 6
legal 6

About Yoshimura:

Maharu Yoshimura (吉村 真晴), born 3 August 1993 is a Japanese national table tennis player.

At the 2015 World Table Tennis Championships, Yoshimura won a silver medal in the mixed doubles event with Kasumi Ishikawa. At the 2017 World Table Tennis Championships, Yoshimura won a gold medal in the mixed doubles event with Kasumi Ishikawa.

Yoshimura’s Equipment: Butterfly Custom (ZL Carbon), Butterfly Tenergy 05 (BH, FH)

Yoshimura has a very good serve Upside-down serve
Yoshimura has a very good serve Upside-down serve

At the 2019 Team World Cup Zen-noh, he has won Timo Boll 3-0 in the match of Germany vs Japan. He has used the “upside-down serve” very effective to win Timo Boll.

Maharu Yoshimura has won Timo Boll 3-0 in ZEN-NOH 2019 Team World Cup
Maharu Yoshimura has won Timo Boll 3-0 in ZEN-NOH 2019 Team World Cup

Timo Boll has a hard time to read Yoshimura serve

Let analyze the game between Timo Boll and Yoshimura at this Team World Cup.

Timo Boll has a hard time to read Yoshimura's serve
Timo Boll has a hard time to read Yoshimura’s serve

So you can see that Timo Boll has a hard time to read the spin of Yoshimura serve. He lost about 12 points due to this problem. Yes, 12 points/ over (11+11+13 = 35 points won by Yoshimura. That means about 34%.

34% of Yoshimura's serve leads to the winning points
34% of Yoshimura’s serve leads to the winning points

 

This percentage is very high, especially at a high-level player. So I can say this serve is very very effective! It’s a very good service to learn.

 

Is Yoshimura’s serve legal?

To conclude “legal” or not “legal”. Let’s study this slow-motion serve of Yoshimura.

 

 

Can you see the contact point
Can you see the contact point

In your opinion, is it legal or not? I’m waiting for your comment!

However, developing a good serve is very important in table tennis. Take your time, to improve your serve!

Related Posts

5
Share Your Passion & Ask Anything

avatar
1 Comment threads
1 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
2 Comment authors
Coach EmRatThichSPINNERZ Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
SPINNERZ
Guest
SPINNERZ

From my vantage point, I cannot see the contact point, hence it is illegal as per ITTF rule 2.6.4

TimoBoll Fan
Guest
TimoBoll Fan

thank you coach EmRatThich. Serving rules are not very clear for new players.

Name*
Guest
Name*

Illegal

LELAND
Guest
LELAND

Illegal if opponent cannot see point of contact of serve imo…
Judges should watch for that🏓🎶

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!